Transgender Community “Deeply Disappointed” in Rescission of Title IX Guidelines

Transgender Community “Deeply Disappointed” in Rescission of Title IX Guidelines

"Intolerance will not be tolerated in Indiana—especially toward young people in our schools," Kit Malone, Transgender Education, ACLU of Indiana   View the live Facebook video of this...

ACLU of Indiana Files Demands for Documents on Implementation of Trump's Muslim Ban

ACLU of Indiana Files Demands for Documents on Implementation of Trump's Muslim Ban

FOIA Filed As Part of Coordinated Campaign With 50 ACLU Affiliates For Immediate Release:February 2, 2017 Contact:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled...

ACLU Executive Director Anthony Romero Outlines 7-Point Plan of Action

ACLU Executive Director Anthony Romero Outlines 7-Point Plan of Action

The day before President Trump took office, the ACLU took our first action against this new administration by filing a Freedom of Information Act request seeking documents related to the new...

5 Things You Can Do

5 Things You Can Do

  February 7, 2017 As long as there is an American Civil Liberties Union (and we've been around for nearly 100 years), we will take a stand for what is right. We're stronger when you stand...

Resources for Families & People at Risk

Resources for Families & People at Risk

FEEL LIKE YOU'RE AT RISK? The ACLU has compiled a list of resources to help you. Since the election we've received a tremendous outpouring of support, and we want you to know we are working...

  • Transgender Community “Deeply Disappointed” in Rescission of Title IX Guidelines

  • ACLU of Indiana Files Demands for Documents on Implementation of Trump's Muslim Ban

  • ACLU Executive Director Anthony Romero Outlines 7-Point Plan of Action

  • 5 Things You Can Do

  • Resources for Families & People at Risk

How to file a complaint

Thank you for contacting the ACLU of Indiana. Please be aware that due to the high volume of complaints we receive, it could take up to 6-8 weeks for you to receive a response. We ask for your patience while we carefully review your complaint. Please allow 8 weeks before inquiring about your complaint, as it will only slow our ability to process all the requests we receive in as timely a manner as possible. We will contact you as soon as we are able.

 

File your complaint online

Click here to file a complaint online

 

File your complaint by email, fax or postal mail

Step One:

Download a complaint form in English or Spanish, below:

Step Two:

Completely fill out the complaint form.

Step Three:

Email, fax or send the form by postal mail.

  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Fax: 317-635-4105
  • Postal mail:

Attn: Intake
ACLU of Indiana
1031 East Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202-3952

 

Latest News

ACLU Speaks Out About Senate Bill 285 - Traffic Obstruction by Protestors

By Jane Henegar, Executive Director, ACLU of Indiana

Jane HenegarOver the past year, a historic level of activism and protest has spilled out into our nation's parks, streets, and sidewalks — places where our First Amendment rights are at their height. And yet, in several states including Indiana, legislators have followed up on this exuberant activism with proposed bills that are not only far less inspiring, but also unnecessary and potentially unconstitutional.

Disappointingly, SB 285 is one such bill.

Even though these bills are cloaked with concerns about obstruction or public safety, their effect is singular: chilling protest and suppressing dissent. It is disappointing that our lawmakers would rather silence the voices of their constituents than listen and engage with them. It is unconstitutional and un-American and we at the ACLU are doing everything we can to stop it.


Editors: Please contact Christy Glesing at (317) 667-5991 for more information or to publish.

Statement on House Bill 1024 - Prayer in Schools

By Jane Henegar, Executive Director, ACLU of Indiana

Jane HenegarFebruary 22, 2017

The First Amendment and existing federal and state law protect religious speech and mandate certain accommodations for religious exercise in government institutions. What the First Amendment does not permit is government endorsement of, or preference for, religious speech and subject matter in public schools.

By forcing public schools to introduce religious curricula and open up public for a for religious speech, HB 1024 puts teachers and school administrators at risk of violating the First Amendment. In sum, HB 1024 takes away the autonomy of school districts to avoid policies and practices that make them susceptible to legal challenges under the United States Constitution.

 

About First Wednesdays

Since 2006, the ACLU of Indiana has been conducting bimonthly educational panels called First Wednesdays. In 2014, we began offering the events in communities across Indiana. The one-hour conversations focus on civil liberties and constitutional rights. Topics have included free speech, privacy rights, racial justice, LGBTQ rights and much more. In 2012, the Indiana Bar Foundation recognized First Wednesdays with its law-related education award.

Read about our most recent events in the First Wednesday archive and sign up to receive notifications

ACLU Declares War Only on Violations of the Constitution

By Jane Henegar, Executive Director, ACLU of Indiana

Jane Henegar webNo doubt, the distinctions between the First Amendment's protections for an individual's free exercise of religion and the First Amendment's prohibition against government's endorsement of religion can be confusing and complicated. However, each of the arguments that Mr. Heck [ACLU declares 'war' on the Constitution, 12/18/16] presents has been addressed and squarely rejected by the U.S. Supreme Court.

Here is what past U.S. Supreme Court decisions say about the issues surrounding the town of Knightstown's decision to place a cross on top of a Christmas tree in the town square:

  • A Christmas tree has become a secular seasonal decoration. This conclusion by the Court is clearly shared by the millions of Americans and businesses who celebrate the holiday with a decorated tree in their living rooms or shop windows even though they may not celebrate the religious significance of the holiday.
  • Conversely, a Latin cross, such as the one that the town of Knightstown decided to place atop its tree, is the preeminent symbol of Christianity and not traditionally associated with Christmas.
  • When town government adds a Cross to its otherwise secularized decorations (trees, sleigh bells, and Santa Claus with his reindeer) it endorses Christianity over other religions.
  • The First Amendment prohibits all levels of government from endorsing religion. This Constitutional prohibition understandably covers actions of state and local governments, such as Knightstown, and not merely laws enacted by Congress.
  • Individuals have the right to freely exercise their religion, but the Establishment Clause of the Constitution makes clear that government does not have that same right.
  • A town government can open up the public square to allow individuals to express their individual religious beliefs if they allow all individuals, regardless of their faith, to do so. But, many cities, towns, or states have found the ensuing free exercise free-for-all to be unmanageable because Satanists, pagans, or other beliefs invariably seek to add their symbols to the public square.

Read more ...

Thanksgiving letter from ACLU of Indiana Executive Director Jane Henegar

Nov. 17, 2016

Jane Henegar web      Jane Henegar
My View: By Jane Henegar, ACLU of Indiana Executive Director

The first president's 1789 Thanksgiving Proclamation still speaks to America:

"We are thankful... for the peaceable and rational manner in which we have been enabled to establish constitutions of government for our safety and happiness, and particularly the national one now lately instituted; for the civil and religious liberty with which we are blessed, and the means we have of acquiring and diffusing useful knowledge...."

—George Washington, 1789

The same year George Washington wrote these words, the Bill of Rights was introduced. Those first amendments to our Constitution are the bedrock for the individual liberties we all enjoy as Americans: your rights to religious liberty, free speech and assembly, a free press and privacy. These and other freedoms are essential to a functioning democracy.

Read more ...

ACLU Challenges Sign Ordinance Limiting Political Expression

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
Oct. 31, 2016

Indianapolis — The American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana today filed a lawsuit on behalf of a Bedford, Ind. resident who is challenging a newly enacted city ordinance regulating yard signs that has the effect of stifling his political expression. The lawsuit claims that the ordinance violates the First and the Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

 "The Ordinance's limitation of one general use sign on a resident's lawn is a particularly oppressive during election time when citizens wish to voice their support and opposition for multiple candidates and political issues." —Jan Menz, ACLU of Indiana staff attorney

The ACLU of Indiana filed the case against the City of Bedford on behalf of Samuel Shaw, who is seeking to stop the city from enforcing City Ordinance 15-2016, which was enacted in September.

Read more ...

VICTORY! Case Managers Win Appeal Challenging DCS Staffing

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
Oct. 25, 2016

Decision reverses trial court's order to dismiss, saying case managers have a right to bring an action to force DCS to comply with state law 

Indianapolis – Today the Court of Appeals of Indiana handed a victory to case managers at the Indiana Department of Child Services more than a year after they filed a class action lawsuit challenging the failure of DCS to adequately staff the agency as required by law.

In July, 2015, the American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana brought the class-action lawsuit against DCS on behalf of case manager Mary Price and other case managers for violating Indiana Code § 31-25-2-5, which mandates the maximum number of caseloads case managers may have. Today's decision reverses the trial court's Feb., 2016 order to dismiss the lawsuit, saying that case managers have a right to bring an action under mandate to force DCS to comply with the statutory caseload maximums. The case has been remanded to the trial court.

Read more ...

VICTORY! U.S. Court of Appeals Denies Indiana's Effort to Prevent Resettlement of Syrian Refugee Families

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 3, 2016

Indianapolis – Today the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirmed a federal court ruling that prohibits the State of Indiana from taking any actions to interfere with or attempt to deter the resettlement of Syrian refugees in Indiana, including by withholding funds and services to resettlement groups and the refugees they serve.

"The Court of Appeals' decision underscores what we have said throughout this litigation," said Ken Falk, legal director of the ACLU of Indiana. "Governor Pence may not constitutionally or legally discriminate against a particular nationality of refugees that are extensively vetted by the federal government."

The lawsuit filed in November, 2015 was brought by Exodus Refugee Immigration, a nonprofit resettlement agency, represented by the American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana and ACLU national, which said the state's actions to discriminate against Syrian refugees on the basis of national origin violate both equal protection and civil rights laws and intrude on authority that is exclusively federal.

Read more ...

The ACLU defends basic freedoms, every day, for every American. Support us with your tax deductible gift today.